Proud of You


As humans, we have a desire (spoken or not) to be acknowledged.  Not only to be acknowledged, but to be told that someone is proud of us; proud of all we’ve done, all we’re doing, and all we’re going to do.  Since the beginning of our relationship, Ashley has always done that for me.  She has been a constant voice of encouragement.  On the good days, on the days that I just want to quit my job and become a hermit, on the days that are “fine” but something still seems a little off. She’s been that voice.

For the past 731 days, I’ve tried to be the same for her.  The following is something I recorded for her on one of her rough days.  Where her arm was reared back, and the towel was balled up tight, ready to be thrown will all of her might.  She was frustrated with life and her job.  She was defeated.  It was in that moment, and in these moments, that I knew what I needed to do.  I needed to speak life.

This is what came out.

We're Note Done Walking Yet

Ash, I love you and I am so dang proud of you.

//Who encourages you? And, who do you encourage?//

Leave a Reply

